PUNJAB STATE ELECTRICITY REGULATORY COMMISSION PLOT NO. 3, MADHYA MARG, SECTOR 18-A, CHANDIGARH

Petition No. 74 of 2022 Date of Order: 31.03.2023

In the matter of: Petition for True Up for FY 2021-22, APR of FY 2022-23, ARR for MYT Control Period (FY 2023-24 to FY 2025-26) and Determination of Tariff for FY 2023-24.

AND

In the matter of:	Punjab State Power Corporation Limited, The
	Mall, Patiala.

Present: Sh. Viswajeet Khanna, Chairperson Sh. Paramjeet Singh, Member

ORDER

PSPCL has filed the Petition No. 74 of 2022 on 30.11.2022 for determination of Tariff for FY 2023-24 on time as per the timelines specified in the PSERC MYT Regulations, 2022. The Commission has already held the public hearings and completed the process of determination of tariff for FY 2023-24. However, By-elections to the Jalandhar Lok Sabha Parliamentary Constituency have been announced by the Election Commission of India (ECI) on 29.03.2023 bringing into force the Model Code of Conduct. The policy and stand of ECI on the issue as contained in its letter No. 437/6/1/2014/CC&BE dated 29.03.2014 is as under:

"The Commission has no objection to the continuance of the process required for the decision on the power tariff. However, tariff award shall be made only on the completion of poll in the relevant State, i.e. after the poll date/ dates in that State."

The Tariff Order dated 31.03.2022 for PSPCL for FY 2022-23 is

operative till 31.03.2023 only. Therefore, in light of the ECI guidelines reproduced above, the Commission decides to continue with the existing tariff structure till the completion of the polls provisionally till the issue of the Tariff Order for FY 2023-24 after completion of the polls. The subsidy for FY 2023-24, shall be applicable as per the policy of the State Government.

As and when the Tariff Order for FY 2023-24 is issued, the same shall become applicable from the date as mentioned therein and have overriding effect on this Order.

Sd/-(Paramjeet Singh) Member

Dated: 31.03.2023 Chandigarh Sd/-(Viswajeet Khanna) Chairperson